Letters from the Hedge: October 19, 2014

October 19, 2014 § Leave a comment

It seems you’re a lot like me
You dug yourself into places
You never thought you would be
But don’t you fret, and don’t you mind
The only constant is change
And you never know what you’ll find

– Radical Face, “We’re On Our Way

This is going to be a short one, because in a few minutes I have to go to the gym.  I’ve been getting more and more tired of being labeled “unfit” and being teased, however gently, about my body.  I understand I’ll never be perfect, but damn if it wouldn’t be nice to qualify as thin instead of average.

Anyways, Friday was open mic night, and I was the opening act!  They put me first!  Me, the dork with the depressing poetry that I didn’t even have memorized, so I had to read it off my phone!  Definitely one of the crowning moments of my life for sure.  One of the poems I read was the recent one about my hair, which was addressed to two people.  (Un?)fortunately, one of them was actually there, but I doubt they understood that it was a very, very lightly barbed rebuttal towards their treatment of me (and my hair.)

One of the good things about poetry: five different people can read it and interpret it five different ways, and none of them will be wrong.

Moving on.

On Wednesday (I think) I auditioned for my first play this semester!  I really felt like I didn’t overact this time, mainly because the character whose monologue I was reading already seemed so much like me.  But we’ll see how that goes.

Plus, look!  It’s about queer women!  OMG PLS.  MUST HAVE PART.  Source.

Man, this semester has been weird so far.  I definitely feel like I’m flying blind half the time; none of my previous experience has prepared me for anything that’s happened since … hmm … last April.  It’s terrifying – but it’s also wonderful.  I have a lot of hope for the future.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Letters from the Hedge: October 19, 2014 at Glass Half Fuller.

meta

