It’s Really Too Late To Form Complex Thoughts: Of Biology and Art

October 9, 2013 Comments Off on It’s Really Too Late To Form Complex Thoughts: Of Biology and Art

I’ve been thinking, recently, that biochem and art are actually quite compatible.  I tried to write a paper on this concept in high school but failed miserably.  It’s hard to put into words, but no matter how much I struggle with science and how much I might complain about all my labs and problem sets, when you get right down to it everything I am learning is indescribably beautiful.  

I had to try and explain G-proteins to a friend of mine today and cracked open my Cell textbook for the first time this semester.  How I missed it.  I have a newfound appreciation for the intricacies of signal transduction.

File:1GZX Haemoglobin.png

This is Wiki’s rendering of hemoglobin, a protein we’ve been studying in biochem lately.  It’s as elegant a work of art as any master sculptor could hope to produce, yet we all have so much of it and in fact would die without it.  Concepts like this just make me so happy to think about!

Tagged: ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s Really Too Late To Form Complex Thoughts: Of Biology and Art at Glass Half Fuller.

meta

