It’s All Up From Here, No Downward Spiral

September 12, 2013 Comments Off on It’s All Up From Here, No Downward Spiral

Today I went to a Q&A meeting for the first time.  LGBTQIA* clubs are generally called GSA, but at my school, that was already taken by the graduate students, and I think I like Q&A better.  It is more inclusive.

I feel so lucky to have such a large and structured support network.  I am not secretive about my sexuality, but I do not volunteer information about it unless I am asked.  Fortunately I am in a time and place where I am not in physical or mental danger because of my sexuality, gender, or ethnicity.  That doesn’t mean I don’t occasionally hear crass jokes about such things, or experience discrimination, or read stupid comments on the Internet, but at least I know I won’t be killed, and I have the support and treatment I need to combat depression and anxiety.

Regardless of how you feel about LGBTQIA* people, or the marriage of such people, or their civil rights and liberties, you can’t possibly argue against the existence of Q&A.  College is meant to be a place where you can explore and become proud of who you are, gender/sexuality and all.

Tagged: ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s All Up From Here, No Downward Spiral at Glass Half Fuller.

meta

