TMI Monday: Mean Green Mouse Tongue Machines

September 2, 2013 Comments Off on TMI Monday: Mean Green Mouse Tongue Machines

Dear whomever might be reading this,

Today is Labor Day, which means we don’t have any school, thank goodness.  I have a lot of work to do and most of it – surprise, surprise – is about biology.  I guess that’s what I get for being a biochem major.  But actually.

Yesterday I went to the zoo with a bunch of underclassmen.  (Did you know that sophomores still count as underclassmen?  It’s true, look it up.)

Much fun and many sunburns were had by all.  UNfortunately, goofing off for basically all of yesterday means I have a lot of work to catch up on today, and now we’re just circling around to what I just talked about.  Oh well.

Screw-Yer-Roommate is coming up!  I am excited to meet a new guy (or girl; since I’m not using SYR for romantic purposes, I will be happy with anyone my roommate sets me up with.  My sexuality – whatever it is or whatever label SJ Sallies might choose to slap on it – is a nonissue) and go have dinner while dressed in crazy outfits.  Last year I cheated a little and stalked my screwdate on Facebook so I’d have a general idea of what he looked like.  Fortunately I just had to look for a Batman with red hair.  UNfortunately, since he was a senior, he’s gone now.  Rest in peace and all that (just kidding).  But I’m still friends with his roommate … as good of friends as you can be with someone you rarely talk to (our majors are so different.)

Also, we’re going to be in a play together.  Did I mention that?  I GOT A PART IN A PLAY!!!  A real, honest-to-goodness VADA play.  Of course I’m just a fairy servant, but even fairy servants get costumes and makeup.  And these are SHAKESPEAREAN fairies, which means that they should probably be spelled “faeries” and are quite different from the cute little benign fairies that Western society is so familiar with these days.

This is going to be me in a few months.  Probably.

I am currently kind of-sort of preparing for my bio lab tomorrow, which involves HOMOGENIZING MOUSE TONGUES.  Mouse tongues.  TONGUES OF MICE.  

Dammit.

At least it seems like the rest of the mouse (shudder) was already used, since these tongues are from a lab over in the medical center.  But still!  Mouse TONGUES!  One of the reasons I chose biochem over evo-devo was because I wouldn’t have to work with animals as much, and now look at me.  Homogenizing mouse tongues like it ain’t no thing.  

Well, maybe not *no* thing.

Anyway, that’s about it for now, at least.  I’m sticking to my idea of only socializing if it involves doing something constructive and preferably socially advantageous (not “socially” as in “LOL let’s all gossip with our dorky friends” but “socially” as in “our society will benefit from this”).  Of course there are exceptions.  I’m a sucker for free food and sometimes a girl just needs to get out on the town, particularly if said girl has been trudging through physics problems for hundreds of thousands of hours.  That’s what it feels like anyway.

Happy homogenizing, and may all your dreams come true!

 

Tagged:

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading TMI Monday: Mean Green Mouse Tongue Machines at Glass Half Fuller.

meta

